Homefulness

The most widely-known form of actively being happy is probably mindfulness. In order to be happy you have to be aware of your surroundings and of what you have received already. At the very basis this term entails “Feel Happy Now” in order to be happy. One big part of my everyday happiness is made up by the place that I live in: my apartment. Just walking around in it can give me a light splurge of happiness.

The place that you live in effects your happiness level. You should really feel at home and appreciate your house, because it is the place that you fall a sleep in and wake up in. It is a part of your routine, your everyday life and thus defines your daily happiness. 

This week I moved in with my boyfriend after four years of living with roommates. In order to feel at home I had to make some changes.

The first thing on this list of changes was luckily one of my favorite things to do: Organize! The room was one big blur of boxes that had to be opened, and we had to find a place for all those goods. 

Even if you do not like organizing, it still is important. Imagine living in an apartment crowded with boxes all the time. There would always be something nagging at the back of your mind. Wise lesson: In order to empty your head of worries you have to empty your house of junk.

After this (when I could finally walk in my new living room) it was time for the second step: Personalize! In order to really feel at home I had to put some pictures on the wall, put some of my favorite books in a prominent spot and really make the home into a “Maaike-zone”.

ImageThere is still a lot of work to do, but these small changes do make me feel good and looking at things familiar to me remind me of wonderful memories.

Homefulness for me is feeling at home and appreciating that feeling. With a little effort your house can be a happiness shelter. On this blog I will keep you updated on my housy business and the small touches that help me to forge my house into a happy place. Maybe this will also help you to be more Homeful.

Leave a comment